Transmission Liquid 1979 B7100

gktilton

Equipment
79 B7100 w/ FEL, Deere 261 Finish Mwr, Woods M4 Bush Hg, Potato Plow, Cultivator
May 5, 2010
Hooksett, NH
I am new to OrangeTractors and just got my first Kubota on Monday. Drive Great, diesel purrs like a kitten. But I tend to assume that prior owners don't take care of fluids and other maint line they should so I started checking them. Engine oil and filter are ancient, rust on filter. Only water in the radiator, but I am good on both of those.

Here is my question, is the fluid in transmission supposed to be an off-white color. Never seen that before and am more than a little confused. Planning on changing it, but wanted to ask opinions about what is in it and why is it WHITE. I am sure I will have more questions as time goes on.

Thanks

Eric McCarthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota B6100E
Dec 21, 2009
Richmond Va
Yeah Im kinda stumped as to why its white in the tranny tank. I've seen it kinda like a light tan beige color which usually indicates theres water in the tank along with rust. Tranny fluid is going to look alot like motor oil, same color and all. FLUSH the tranny tank with UDT or Super UDT tranny oil. You can by that over the counter at most places, I hear Wal-mart even carries it in some places. I'd drain out the crap you have in there and flush it wout with new tranny oil and replace the filter as well. Repete as needed until its cleared up.

Bulldog

Equipment
M 9000 DTC, L 3000 DT
Mar 30, 2010
Rocky Face, Georgia
This may be completely wrong but if it's real light in color and is foamy looking it sounds like it has water in it. After it sets over night is it the same color?

gktilton

Equipment
79 B7100 w/ FEL, Deere 261 Finish Mwr, Woods M4 Bush Hg, Potato Plow, Cultivator
May 5, 2010
Hooksett, NH