Suggestion # 3

E/S

Equipment
2009 M8540HDC 4x4 w/ Cab
Jan 6, 2010
Reno, NV
Make it so when you open a thread you are taken to the first unread entry would be nice.
Thanks for listening.

E/S

stuart

Lifetime Member

Equipment
B7001 with loader & tiller, 3 point hitch and 4' rear blade
Aug 9, 2009
Aldergrove, BC, Canada
On the same topic, I have a slight disagreement on how the site defines 'read' and 'unread'. I realize that this is a function of the forum software chosen. I have seen quite a few over the years, and this is certainly better than most. When I enter the site, it shows all messages dated after my last visit as 'unread'. This is good. But when I leave the site, all messages , even ones I have not had a look at, are considered 'read', which makes it difficult to continue a session if I have had to leave in the middle of it.

I'm a programmer and web designer as a hobby, and I can see how much more complex the record keeping would be to track each message thread, rather than just compare times. However, if this option is available, it would be nice to have it switched on, to show the all messages I have actually read or not read, rather than show only those read or unread since my last visit.

This is a fairly small issue in the global scheme of things, and I don't want to appear picky.

This is a wonderful forum and a great resource - keep up the good work.

stuart

Lifetime Member

Equipment
B7001 with loader & tiller, 3 point hitch and 4' rear blade
Aug 9, 2009
Aldergrove, BC, Canada
Further on that topic, I just posted reply to the 'spellchecker' thread here, and ALL messages, even ones from today that I have not seen yet, have been marked as 'read'. Hmmm. This does not sound right.

Rusty46

Equipment
B7500 HSD-R, LA 302, RCK60-24B, Woods RB-72, Millcreek 25, Harrow, Payne PF800,
Make it so when you open a thread you are taken to the first unread entry would be nice.
Thanks for listening.

E/S