Reattaching PTO Cover on Snowblower

ChrisO83

Equipment
Kubota LX3310 hsdc, STB 1072 Plow, B2782B Blower, MTL 48” Graplr, MTL Forks, FEL
Feb 16, 2021
Coalville, UT
So I’m fairly new to tractors and was checking my PTO connections on my B2782B snowblower. I removed the protective cover on the PTO, which was fairly easy to do, but trying to put it back on is another story.

There is a retaining ring that fits in a groove in the cover that needs to be set in place from the inside but getting to it without removing the entire yoke from the snowblower is impossible to do because of the metal housing on the blower.

So before I disconnect the shaft from the blower I wanted to make sure that’s the only way to access the retaining ring to set it in place?

This seems rather complicated comparhow easy the cover came off.
What am I doing wrong?

CO

Attachments

mikester

Equipment
M59 TLB
Oct 21, 2017
Canada
www.divergentstuff.ca
I'm not exactly clear on what your question is. Based on your title I thought you were asking about snowblowers. In the content it's a PTO shaft assembly question and you don't provide a manufacturer or model number.

You might have better luck if you try and find a parts diagram for your PTO shaft assembly. Different manufacturers use different assemblies. If you managed to disassemble the PTO shaft cover then reassemble it in reverse order. That's all I can give you with the info provided.

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada
hopefully you've got 6 MONTHS to figure it out.......
one of those , shouldhave taken picture before/during the teardown
M's right, check online for a 'parts picture'
if you're talking about the plastic safety shield on the PTO shaft, pull the PTO shaft apart, slide cover on SB portion, slide front half of PTO shaft through shield ,into rear half of PTO shaft ??