New 1973 L175

L175 owner

Sep 10, 2014
Ga
Hey guys! I'm new to orange, and relatively new to tractors. I just got one a trade for a truck I had rusting in my yard. It came to me with a stuck clutch and no brakes, both of which have been remedied. My experience with tractors has pretty much been limited to some light bushhogging with an old MF TO30. I just have a few questions I was hoping you folks could assist me with.

First, are there any problem areas I should pay special attention to with this model? Anything prone to breakage?

Do I need to put any additives in with the fuel when I fill up? Yea, I'm new to diesels too! I've heard the low sulfer diesel now doesn't lubricate as well?

I plan on doing a bit of mowing on a couple acres with a finish mower, and also maybe a small garden and food plot work. Is a 5ft finish mower too much? I was going to go with a 4ft but having trouble finding any around here. I'll be cutting grass and nothing more.

Area I'll be doing the food plot on is low, sandy soil. It has some small brush, but I have someone who's going to clear that for me. It's not hard packed at all. Garden area would be pretty hard to begin with, with a fair amount of clay. What implements would be best? Any particular suggestions?

Tractor has turf tires, if that matters.

Thanks!

Last edited:

MadMax31

Equipment
BX23S, 60" MMM
Nov 5, 2014
New York
The steering assembly, that mounts above the clutch has several seals that can wear out and let water in, freeze and blow the bottom of the assembly out. Mine is leaking, needs rebuild before freezing temps.

I have a Woods 60" belly finish mower. Havent hooked it up but a Google search proved it a popular setup.

Ive run a 4' brush hog, and recently a 4' flail. The flail ate alot of power, but results were soo nice.

Tooljunkie

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L1501,home built carry all, mini plow blade.
May 13, 2014
Lac Du Bonnet, Manitoba,Canada