M4950 PTO Help

chasdabigone

Sep 15, 2017
Rockwall
Hey guys, I bought a M4950 at auction the other day. Engine runs great but the PTO won't engage. The pto clutch feels good when I pull it up (increasing tension) and the engage lever seems to work alright. I can also hear something in that PTO box spinning so I think the problem is something to do with the clutch. All of the clutch switch wires have been either cut or are disconnected.

I pull the PTO clutch up, engage the PTO lever, and when I put the clutch lever down it doesn't go.

Any ideas? I'm a tractor newbie so it could be something very simple

russell.still.5

Aug 28, 2017
Lafayette, Alabama
The PTO is hydraulically controlled. The lever is moving a cable which operates a hydraulic valve. The feel of the lever has nothing to do with it. You just feel a spring stretching. I would start at the valve and go from there. Messicks has the parts breakdowns to give you an idea where to look. Could be something simple as a cable and could be as complicated as splitting the tractor and replacing the clutches

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

chasdabigone

Sep 15, 2017
Rockwall
thanks, i poked around a bit and ordered a service manual just because i'm gonna need it eventually no matter what.

I just want to make sure i'm right in understanding that the PTO clutch switch won't have any bearing on the operation of the PTO - it must be a mechanical or hydraulic problem if it won't engage. Is that right?

russell.still.5

Aug 28, 2017
Lafayette, Alabama
thanks, i poked around a bit and ordered a service manual just because i'm gonna need it eventually no matter what.

I just want to make sure i'm right in understanding that the PTO clutch switch won't have any bearing on the operation of the PTO - it must be a mechanical or hydraulic problem if it won't engage. Is that right?