L3800 fuel problem, elementary question

F2036

Jan 25, 2014
Bondurant Ia
Today while using a rotary mower behind my L3800, (415 hrs on hour meter) it started to loose power, running rough, and blowing some white smoke. I shut the mower down, slowed the engine down to an idle and headed for the shop.
I changed the fuel filter, and made sure I had a full stream from the fuel tank, oil and water levels were where they should be. Strarted the tractor back up and it would idle just fine, at wide open throttle after while it would start to lose rpm's and stumble just a little bit but not as bad as it was before I changed the fuel filter.
The fuel was fresh about a week ago. I'm not very good at working on diesels, where should I look next? or what should I do next?
Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated, Thanks, Jim

Roadworthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L2501 HST
Aug 17, 2019
Benton City, WA
White smoke frequently indicates water. Is it still blowing some white smoke? The fresh fuel you got may have excessive moisture. We can hope it's that minor. Beyond that a compression check could be in order. A blown head gasket is not beyond the realm of possibility.

JerryMT

Equipment
Kubota M4500, NH TD95D,Ford 4610
Jun 17, 2017
The Palouse - North Idaho
Today while using a rotary mower behind my L3800, (415 hrs on hour meter) it started to loose power, running rough, and blowing some white smoke. I shut the mower down, slowed the engine down to an idle and headed for the shop.
I changed the fuel filter, and made sure I had a full stream from the fuel tank, oil and water levels were where they should be. Strarted the tractor back up and it would idle just fine, at wide open throttle after while it would start to lose rpm's and stumble just a little bit but not as bad as it was before I changed the fuel filter.
The fuel was fresh about a week ago. I'm not very good at working on diesels, where should I look next? or what should I do next?