L35 TLB GST

JimmyJazz

Equipment
B2601
Aug 8, 2020
Pittsburgh, Pa
Hi everyone, I am considering purchasing a 23 year old used unit with 400 hours from the original owner that had only been used around his property. When I search "Kubota L35 problems" there are many that have had issues with the glide shift transmission (GST). So many that some feel a recall should have been issued. I have no experience with the GST and also don't possess the time, tools, or temperament to deal with diagnosing/fixing any potentially forthcoming problems. The unit appears to be well taken care of. Should I reconsider based on my findings. Thanks

Last edited:

L35

Equipment
L35/TL720/BT900/York rake/Valby chipper
Jun 13, 2010
CT
Mines a 98 with about 1200hrs and no issue to date. Use oem fluids and filters, and don’t treat it like a rental and the machine will threat you well. The L35 is a beast.

Reactions: 1 users

PoTreeBoy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L35 Ford 3930
Mar 24, 2020
WestTn/NoMs

Hi everyone, I am considering purchasing a 23 year old used unit with 400 hours from the original owner that had only been used around his property. When I search "Kubota L35 problems" there are many that have had issues with the glide shift transmission (GST). So many that some feel a recall should have been issued. I have no experience with the GST and also don't possess the time, tools, or temperament to deal with diagnosing/fixing any potentially forthcoming problems. The unit appears to be well taken care of. Should I reconsider based on my findings. Thanks
Wow, what a find! I think the main problem has been with the hydraulic clutch hub on the early L35's. But there was a guy on here last week with a broken hub on an L39, which came after the L35, so it's still a possibility.