Ideas for building 3-pt ballast/carry all

BobInSD

Equipment
L5740
Jun 23, 2020
South Dakota
I have been contemplating filling a 55-gallon drum with cement and whatever scrap metal I have on hand and calling it good. I'm not sure how often I would need the weight when I wouldn't already have an implement on the rear, and the ability to hang extra weights off of my box-blade and/or off of the front if I don't have the loader on might be a plus.

I have about 350-400 pounds of lead window weights and another 180 pounds of rusty worn out tire chains. Lumping them into 50 # chunks so I could easily lift them on and off and fabricating a bracket to hang these bundles off of the BB or the grill guard seems like it might be worth a shot. (Basically make them into poor man's suitcase weights?). I'm an abysmal welder, but this might be a good chance to learn/improve (realize I can't weld lead, but maybe make some boxes and or use some of the brake drums/rotors/bent steel rims scattered around the place):
annotatedWeights.jpg

I've never had a tractor where the loader came off (easily), so I don't even know if I'd want to hang them off the front. If I'm moving dirt/gravel there's normally a blade on the back. I don't know how much I'd use a "carry all" and like the looks/expense/effort/durability of the wooden ones I've seen in videos but the ability to put some weight low and close to the tractor would be a plus. I don't really know how much weight I need, but if I have a combination of cement and steel I'd rather have the steel lower (but easy to take on and off?

OK, let's hear some design ideas!

Thanks,

Bob

jimh406

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota L2501 with R4 tires
Jan 29, 2021
Western MT
Look at the existing ballast box designs what I don’t like about most of them is that they don’t have removable pins. I think that would be very helpful if you don’t have a quickhitch.