Help please with bx2200

Orangenoob

Equipment
BX2200
Jan 24, 2022
Europe
Hi all. I'm new to Kubota. Recently got a bx2200, but it is acting up now after a few months stand still. I'm hoping someone here can help :)

So this is what happens: Top fuse blows as soon as I turn the key to 1'st position. Fuelpump still runs, and glow plugs work, and I can start it, but only as long as I have the key fully turned into start position. As soon as I let go of key and it returns to run, it cuts off. Also cuts off if I ease it back to glow position.

Don't know what the top fuse do, but I guess it's related. I'm not used to working on Kubota, so it's all a bit new to me.

I have made sure there is a good battery, and the battery is solidly connected, also on ground point and starter.

I don't see any wires rubbing on ground or things like that.

I have wiggled wires and connectors.

I can not hear anything from the solenoid on the pump, when I turn key to run position, but hr. meter and feed pump runs.

I have checked and lubed connections to ign. switch and solenoid.

Under seat, I have two wires looped together. I'm guessing a seat switch bypass. No change if connected or not.

Please, any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

DustyRusty

Equipment
BX23S
Nov 8, 2015
North East CT
Defective ignition switch. Turning the switch to crank bypasses the run contacts, which is why it stops once it is started. My guess is that it is shorting out internally to activate the stop solenoid.

Roadworthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L2501 HST
Aug 17, 2019
Benton City, WA
As Rusty said, it could be the ignition switch. The fuel shutoff solenoid is another potential culprit. Some of these solenoids have one connection for the start position and another for run.

Henro

Equipment
B2910, BX2200, KX41-2V mini Ex.
May 24, 2019
North of Pittsburgh PA
Hi all. I'm new to Kubota. Recently got a bx2200, but it is acting up now after a few months stand still. I'm hoping someone here can help :)