Broke Bush hog

Overleaf

Equipment
Grand L6060
Oct 14, 2023
North MS
I'm a novice tractor owner with an L6060 that I've had for less than a year. While bush hogging the other day with my Land Pride RC 1872 I noticed I wasn't cutting anything. I found my stump jumper with attached blades laying on the ground. The dish looks fine and the blades are ok without any bends. Thank goodness for warranty and KTAC which will fix it even though at this point he had to take the gear box off to take to the shop because the remaining part of the device attached to the gear box spline couldn't be removed yet.
1714571702696.jpeg

My service guy says he's never seen a break like this. The middle part of the bar is still attached to gear box and the PTO turns fine. I may be cutting with the cutter too low to the ground and there are some stumps around but shouldn't the stump jumper "jump" them.
I guess I want to know if anyone else has ever experienced something like this and what can I do to avoid this situation in the future?
Thanks,

M Koury

• Wow
Reactions: 1 users

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
I have seen a bunch of bent ones - never snapped like that, I gonna on a limb and say that steel was treated a bit too much - making it brittle. Then again - I would like to see what the hell you hit! :D

Overleaf

Equipment
Grand L6060
Oct 14, 2023
North MS
Better snaps of the fractures, plz.
1714573531477.jpeg
This is the best I have. Symmetrical break on both sides. No perceived vibrations any different than normal before the incident. In fact I was probably bush hogging for several minutes before I realized I wasn't doing anything.

mcmxi

Lifetime Member

Equipment
***Current*** M6060HDC, MX6000HSTC & GL7000 ***Sold*** MX6000HST & BX25TLB
Feb 9, 2021
NW Montana