Kubota L4200
Aug 12, 2023
New york
IMG_2418.jpeg
IMG_2420.jpeg
IMG_2421.jpeg
IMG_2305.jpeg
IMG_2320.jpeg
I am new to tractors and bought my first tractor with my dad, an L4200 with a front loader. It came with a backhoe 3pt hitch attachment which looks large for the tractor itself but works alright. It’s a low hour machine and seems very well kept, but the more I’ve been reading about backhoe attachments on tractors the more I begin to worry about damage I am putting it under. Videos and articles seem to say a subframe is the right solution. Unfortunately I don’t know what model the backhoe is as it’s older and rusted. I’m not sure where to even find this on the attachment. Hope these pictures help.

My question is, do I need to buy a subframe for my tractor to protect it, or is it a large enough tractor to be able to manage the attachment strains. Thanks.

Edit for photos.

Last edited:

Runs With Scissors

Equipment
L2501 TLB , Grappel, Brush Hog, Box Blade, Ballast box, Forks, Tiller, PH digger
Jan 25, 2023
Michigan
I think you are correct...........The "rumor" is that using a 3pt hoe is akin to "playing with Nitroglycerin".

Depending on your skill level, you might be able to put a subframe on and "adapt" the "3pt backhoe" to the subframe?

I've never heard of anyone doing that, but I suppose it's possible.

But I am not sure "just adding the subframe" will work.

Edit: I forgot to add "Welcome".......Also remember if you tackle this "Pics or is didn't happen" applies

Paul

Reactions: 1 user

fried1765

Equipment
Kubota L48 TLB, Ford 1920 FEL, Ford 8N, SCAG Liberty Z, Gravely Pro.
Nov 14, 2019
Eastham, Ma