B7100 HST engine overhaul

KEO316

Equipment
Kubota B7100
Oct 27, 2021
Colorado
I have a very nice B7100 4x4 HST with a D750 engine. About 2100 hours. It has low compression and after replacing head, valves and injectors, I think it needs a complete overhaul. Thinking of doing it myself.

I can get an overhaul kit on Ebay for $500, from Canada. Pistons, rings, wrist pins, gaskets, bearing inserts. Any comments?

My concerns are, do I have to break it in two to do it? Do I have to pull engine? or can I do it with front axle in place and the engine in place?
What special equipment do I need?

What special things do I have to concern myself with?
Eager for any and all comments.

IMG_9812.JPG

Last edited:

Nicksacco

Equipment
Kubota L35 TLB
Sep 15, 2021
Bahama, NC
I was wondering what others are thinking about the hours. 2000 hours seems really low to me for a complete overhaul but I'm no expert on this.
Curious, did you buy it new? Were there traces of prior engine/tractor abuse?
From the looks of it, it appears it is well taken care of.

What symptoms does it have?
Did you do the work on the head replacement and such?
Did you actually do compression testing? What were the values?

KEO316

Equipment
Kubota B7100
Oct 27, 2021
Colorado
I was wondering what others are thinking about the hours. 2000 hours seems really low to me for a complete overhaul but I'm no expert on this.
Curious, did you buy it new? Were there traces of prior engine/tractor abuse?
From the looks of it, it appears it is well taken care of.

What symptoms does it have?
Did you do the work on the head replacement and such?
Did you actually do compression testing? What were the values?