B7100 alternator upgrade

seanbarr

Equipment
B7100DT (sold) - Branson 3520H
Feb 1, 2013
Deer Park, WA
As an emergency vehicle upfitter by trade, it comes naturally that I wanted electrical power just because I can! I do plan to use it to run lights from the headlights (not OEM!) and flood lights on the ROPS. Warning lights will also be added as I'll use it to clear snow on the street as the county plow doesn't always come around often. I jumped into this project starting with this compact alternator, figuring out things as I progress.

The alternator that I bought is a Hitachi model #14231. It's a 3-wire, 35 amp compact unit, cheap at $65 and sized appropriately. As shown:

Realizing later into the project that I'd need a double pulley, what I SHOULD have gotten is this (more shaft space):

Originally, I was going to mount it on the left side of the tractor to take advantage of a single belt setup but it was too tight and it pressed on the crankshaft vent hose. The right side offered ample room but can't use a single belt setup. With a little research and some thought, I decided to take the dual belt route.

The alternator required a double pulley with a 15mm bore, which I was only able to locate one from a machinist in Canada. It was made for RX7 Mazda aftermarket owners. A very nice fellow, he even machined it to keep the bore depth to a minimum as it was quite shallow. It just fits with no room to spare. If I had a shop press, I would have taken the alternator fan piece and flattened the dome that formed part of the pulley to give me some more shaft space. Sure, I could have gotten the other alternator but I already drilled out the lower mounting studs to 3/8" to fit the alternator snugly on the welded tube that I had lying around. (This is why I posted so you'll know what alternator to get!)