B series electrical question

richie

Equipment
B6000, S850 tiller
Feb 13, 2013
Eufaula, Washington
Greetings! This is my first time posting o this forum, so I will give a quick introduction. I picked up a B6000 Kubota tractor a couple of years ago for what I thought was quite cheap (under $500.00 + a small trade). It was my first Kubota and it has been a good tractor for me. Needs a little body work, but thats what winter is for!

My question is there is a small red light above the key on the tractor that I always thought was an ignition light or something, but from what I see in the service manual wiring diagram, it shows it to be an oil switch light. The service manual does not show any ignition light. Is having the light on when I turn the key on good or bad? Perhaps someone tampered with the wiring? Any answer would be most appreciated.

Stumpy

Equipment
L175
Dec 1, 2011
NE Ohio
That light should indicate whether the engine has oil pressure or not. It's a simple pressure switch. It should come on when the key on and the engine isn't running and shut off a few seconds after startup. If it remains on after startup either the switch is faulty or you've got an oil pressure problem. Don't run the machine if the light stays on after startup, an engine without oil pressure will self destruct fairly quickly.

richie

Equipment
B6000, S850 tiller
Feb 13, 2013
Eufaula, Washington
As far as I can remember, the light does stay on after start up. But I have never had any problems with the oil and it seem to run good. I have ran it this way for three years and no problems:D So I'm guessing it is a faulty switch like you said. After all the tractor is quite old:eek: Would there be any reason that the oil pressure would not build?

seanbarr

Equipment
B7100DT (sold) - Branson 3520H
Feb 1, 2013
Deer Park, WA