Adjusting the Boxblade

yankeepac

Equipment
L3200
Apr 4, 2013
salisbury nc usa
I finished my last of bush hogging for the season today and put my new box blade on for the first time. Seemed to go on pretty easily, but had to fiddle with the top link. The pin going through the top hole, was not long enough, to get the cotter pin through, but it fit in the lower hole. The tractor has both a top and bottom attachment point for the top link, why is this, and which one should I use? The brushcutter linked to the top one.
I am a pretty novice with this. and can't seem to figure how to adjust the three point hitch. anyone have any advise on this.
pictures would be great also.

MtnViewRanch

Oct 10, 2012
Lakeside Ca.
The different pin locations allow the implement to be raised up different amounts. They change the arc and thus the implement gets raised differently in each of the pin locations. I typically use the top location on my tractors.

As far as the box blade, shorter gets the front blade to dig in. Extend and get both blades at the same level. This works well for taking high spots down and filling in the lower areas. Extend the top link more so that just the rear blade touches and this works well for smoothing.

You will get use to it after awhile. If you end up using the box blade very much, it is nice to have at least a hydraulic top link and if you have slopes and roads to work on, a hydraulic side link sure comes in handy.

But get use to operating the tractor with the box blade and then go from there. ;)

TripleR

Equipment
BX2200, BX2660, L5740 HSTC, M8540HDC and some other tractors and equipment
Sep 16, 2011
SE Missouri
What MtnViewRanch said, a box scraper is pretty simple in concept, but does take practice. After many years of climbing on and off tractors adjusting the top link, I now use hydraulic top-links on my tractors and highly recommend them.