New guy with a question???

Gundog

Equipment
B3300SU TLB
Jun 19, 2013
Ridgefield, WA
Hi I am new here I recently purchased a new Kubota B3300SU tractor with a loader and backhoe. I also have a brush hog type mower and a 5' box scraper. This is my first tractor but I have operated equipment of different types for many years.

I ordered the mechanical thumb for my backhoe and now I would like to make it hydraulic operated getting on and off the tractor to adjust the thumb is a pain. The thumb must be pinned out of the way to dig and I have been digging out a lot of small tree and brush stumps it would be so much handier to be able to operate the thumb hydraulically.

Years ago I worked as a forklift mechanic and I have worked on many hydraulic systems but I don't know much about the Kubota system.

What I am not sure about is where the best place to tap into the hydraulic system to power the new thumb cylinder. My first thought was to T into the supply and return lines since the system already has a bypass built in. My thought is to use a solenoid valve with a momentary toggle switch to operate the thumb.

I have a small machine shop so I plan to machine some parts to mount the toggle switch to one of the joy sticks maybe even in the grip. I don't really want to add another handle to the existing valve because I don't think there is room in the small console that houses the controls for the backhoe.

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated. I plan to go talk this over with the dealer that sold me the tractor to see what they think.

Thanks Mike

Burtonbr

Lifetime Member

Equipment
2012 B2620, LA364 FEL,rear remotes,grapple pallet forks, many other toys.
Nov 11, 2012
NC
I've seen a few threads, mostly on TBN about converting a static thumb to hydraulic, I suppose you could do it with a diverter, just like third function on a loader, but I've seen most just add another valve to operate the thumb in series with the BH valves.