BX2680 PTO driven Post Hole Digger questions

ScottsBX

Equipment
BX2680, Post Hole Digger, Subsoiler, Piranha Bar, Heavy Hitch Weight Bar
Jul 23, 2020
South Carolina, USA
This is my first time posting to this forum and I am glad that it is here. I have a two-part question related to using my post hole digger.

I have a BX2680 and using a pto driven phd with a 9" auger.

Despite trying to take small "bites" by going down a foot and popping back up, when the auger gets into our sticky red clay, the auger quickly grabs and runs fully downward before I can stop the pto. Then the tractor can't pull the auger up out of the ground. Anyone else experience this with clay and roots? Should the rear 3pt be able to lift that out of the hole when stuck? I think probably not, but wanted to check. Similarly, when it does get stuck it'll also stop the engine if I can't get to the PTO lever quick enough, rather than break away and spin. Again, probably normal, but I wanted to hear any thoughts from folks who have been using one longer than me!

My second question pertains to the same situation. Once the auger has seized into the clay, the only way to free it, was to rock the BX and the auger back and forth while at the same time, holding the 3-pt lift lever up trying to pull it out. It takes several minutes to finally get it out. But on one of the times it got stuck, and I was rocking the tractor back and forth, I forgot that I had the parking brake on. So I rocked back and forth with the brakes on for about 10 minutes straight. Do you think any damage would have been done to the brakes? All seems ok. Maybe the brake pedal seems to go a little further down before engaging, but I may be wrong. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance for your help and advice!

BigG

Equipment
l2501, FEL, BB, Rotary cutter, rake,spreader, roller, etc. New Holland TL80 A
Sep 14, 2018
West Central,FL