Anyone moving round bales with an MX? Do you need additional rear weight?

Tx Jim

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040 HDC-1,JD 4255,Ford 6700
Apr 30, 2013
Coyote Flats,Texas
I realize photos can be deceiving but the bales in your photos don't appear to be 6ft tall(diameter) to my aging eyesight.

mcmxi

Lifetime Member

Equipment
***Current*** M6060HDC, MX6000HSTC & GL7000 ***Sold*** MX6000HST & BX25TLB
Feb 9, 2021
NW Montana
I realize photos can be deceiving but the bales in your photos don't appear to be 6ft tall(diameter) to my aging eyesight.
The bale spear my friend bought is the HLA FE55049 which is 66" wide or 5-1/2" feet, maybe that will help with the scale. I have no experience with round bales so not sure how much they deviate from nominal dimensions but I can see how these bales would be a 5'x6' rather than a 5'x5'. I didn't pay for them so it makes no difference to me but the rancher selling them said they were the 1,400 lb variety.

HLA Attachments - Four Prong Bale Spear c/w Adjustable Guard

Tx Jim

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Apr 30, 2013
Coyote Flats,Texas
1,400 lb was mentioned and the bales make the MX look small.
I realize it's not your concern BUT ""it would be very interesting to know"" what one of the bales in your photo actually weight more especially the bale on the rear of your trailer. I've baled,purchased & sold 1000's of rd bales since I started custom baling in 1987. Bought a lot of 4X5.5 bales that were advertised @ 1200#s that didn't make it weighing much over a 1000#s on a scale. That's when buying by the ton becomes very important! Weighing bales eliminates a lot of the "guess work"

mcmxi

Lifetime Member

Equipment
***Current*** M6060HDC, MX6000HSTC & GL7000 ***Sold*** MX6000HST & BX25TLB
Feb 9, 2021
NW Montana