What to charge per acre/square foot for roto-tilling?

Spurlucky

Equipment
Kubota MX5200, loader, Backhoe w, hydraulic thumb
Apr 19, 2015
Berkshire County, MA, USA
Hello friends,

I am looking to turn my obsession into occasional $. I am an Instructor at a Vocational High School and have the summers off. I am also a Craigslist attachment addict and buy things on the off chance I might use them once. I am trying to justify a trailer to move these beautiful works of art from site to site (tractor itself mostly) and turn this "investment" (that's the word I use when the wife is in the room) into a little cash. Roto-tilling gardens comes to mind.

I have a MX5200 with the following attachments:

FEL bucket & forks
Backhoe w/hydraulic thumb
74" Roto-tiller
Two bottom 16" plow
7' Lime spreader (tow behind)
7' York Rake
72" brush hog
72" finish mower
3pt Snow blower
72" back blade
3pt Post hole digger
72" 3pt chain drag

My question is what are you guy/gals getting for tractor work per hour/square footage or acre and what are you paying for insurance just in case?

Thanks!
Spurlucky

Last edited:

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
My question is what are you guy/gals getting for tractor work per hour/square footage or acre and what are you paying for insurance just in case?

Thanks!
Spurlucky
I would think that travel time and more importantly soil type would play a major roll in deciding what to charge. Has the land every been turned? I am no farmer, but I do know that every "field" is different and you need to plan for those situations that might bite you in the ol booootox!;)

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City