Toroue Wrench ... calibration and metric measurements

Kabota

Equipment
Kabota L1801DT special
Nov 30, 2018
Summerville Pa.
I am going to rebuild my recently acquired L 1801DT. Got some good advice from ya all in this thread I started...

http://www.orangetractortalks.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39122&page=3

In this thread Jim L. mentioned on post #27 that I should be sure to use a recently calibrated torque wrench. I am not a mechanic and my diy neighbors never talk about calibrating their torque wrenches.

So should I have it professionally calibrated ? or is it ok to use diy methods demonstrated on youtube videos?

If I buy a new torque wrench do I need to worry about calibration?

Since Kubota specifications are given in metric units.... should I buy a metric torque wrench or just mathematically convert.

I have worked with metric specs before and I just use math and convert to English so I can use my measuring tools.

I do have a digital read out caliper that reads out both metric and English.... but otherwise I am old school manually reading calipers and micrometers.

So was wondering what precision measuring tools you use when rebuilding a metric engine ?

Jim L.

Jun 18, 2014
Texas
So should I have it professionally calibrated ? or is it ok to use diy methods demonstrated on youtube videos?
Suggest that you look at harbor freight quinn 1/2" drive digital torque adapter. Something like this will let you calibrate or work in place of a torque wrench.

If I buy a new torque wrench do I need to worry about calibration?
Yes, even new.

Since Kubota specifications are given in metric units.... should I buy a metric torque wrench or just mathematically convert.
No need to purchase special equipment, just convert and write it down.

Stuff that goes to the machine shop will get precision work. Tractors are supposed to be designed to be maintained with standard hand tools.