Plowing over gravel

Thorny

Equipment
L2501 HST, 4x4, FEL, front snow blade, rotary cutter, box blade
Sep 24, 2016
Mountains of CO
I'm new to tractors and plowing. I bought a 72" manual adjust plow for the front of the L2501 tractor.

Looking for suggestions as to how high to set the blade height when plowing gravel. I'd like to get close to cleaning the dirt/gravel driveway when it snows, but I don't want to scrape all the gravel off.

Can any with more experience than me offer their thoughts?

coachgeo

Equipment
L225 w/woods Few Mowers & Back Blade, D722 in Motorcycle (Triumph Tiger), LMTV
Nov 16, 2012
Southern OH
I'm new to tractors and plowing. I bought a 72" manual adjust plow for the front of the L2501 tractor.

Looking for suggestions as to how high to set the blade height when plowing gravel. I'd like to get close to cleaning the dirt/gravel driveway when it snows, but I don't want to scrape all the gravel off.

Can any with more experience than me offer their thoughts?
several discussions on this topic. You might try searching with the terms plow Snow and Gravel to find them. That is sure to answer some of your questions and bring new ones to mind you didn't get answered yet. Fire away on the new ones when your ready

eipo

Equipment
L4060
Dec 1, 2015
MI
I have the same question. We haven't had to plow yet, not enough snow to bother my 4wd F350 yet, but it's coming someday. I have been hoping someone would report on these used on a gravel driveway. (or in my case, cinder driveway)
http://r2manufacturing.com/edge-tamer-2/
Those look interesting. My first thought was they would still dig into a gravel drive until the drive froze. Then you would be OK.