Need to grade gravel/RAP to 3in height

Paybax

Jan 22, 2019
Duncan, BC, Canada
Hello,

I install gravel driveways for a living using my B26 and a grading scraper. It works fine but the height of the gravel left behind is only About an inch if I am lucky. That’s fine as I then spread more over with my bucket. However I am starting to install more RAP driveway and I need it 3+ inches thick, I have been managing but surely there must be a better way.

Box grading or grading scraper with custom 3in thick skid shoes? The road runner appears to give the most height but maxes out at 2 inches. I am willing to invest some money into this, custom fabrication or from a dealer.

Thanks,
Ryan

Paybax

Jan 22, 2019
Duncan, BC, Canada
Or maybe I cut out the holes to adjust the blades on the grading scraper to be adjusted to a higher height off the ground. This would greatly weaken it but it is relatively light duty work.

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
Take your clue from the real Caterpillar road grader.

A grader needs a blade suspended between wheels as far apart as possible.

With this configuration, high spots are cut off and low spots filled in.

With anything just attached to your tractor at one end, the movement of the tractor over dips and humps is magnified

The wheels or the blade itself can be set for the depth of material you want as well as the side slope.

Dave

Attachments

Oct 8, 2014
oregon
Draw bar/pintle hitch blade with tires behind it. Basically an inexpensive grader. There's at least one around here, watched them level for a greenhouse last month. Hemp guys are going big this year.

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada