LX2620HSTC?

Garrick

Equipment
L4610, BX2360
May 5, 2024
New Salem, MA
All done with my backhoe projects, so looking to consolidate mowing duties of BX2360 with 4' finish mower and landscape duties of my L4610 with Woods 9' hoe into one newer machine. Considering LX2610HSDC, with a 6' snow pusher with back drag, and 5' finish mower. Some questions.

1. Tires - turf or R14? Some mowing is sandy conditions and side hills, I'm leaning towards turf so it won't tear that up. I know the cab model will have higher center of gravity for the side hills, and recommended to avoid, but thinking 2" wheel spacers should help. I have lots of experience mowing sidehills and know to steer downhill at first sign of tipping. Please don't suggest skipping the cab, I'll want it for winter. Also trying to get away from plowing with my truck as gravel drive seems less likely to be frozen in recent winters.

2. Looks like LX3310's are done, stepping up to the LX3520HSDC is now a much pricier difference than stepping up to the LX3310 used to be. Am I going to regret not having the extra power for these uses? Not overly concerned about the extra weight for mowing. I was mowing with a big finish mower behind the L4610 at one point, just put old truck tires on spare rims for the front to be able to turn without tearing up the lawn.

TIA!

chim

Equipment
L4240HSTC with FEL, Ford 1210
Jan 19, 2013
Near Lancaster, PA, USA
Welcome aboard! While it's been tempting to try turfs or R14's, the R4's have been working too well for me on 3 different tractors. Should note that I grooved mine and it does make a difference in the snow and ice. No sandy soil here, but mow some sidehills at around 18°.

What implements will you want to use? How much hilly or sloped terrain do you have to deal with? Our current tractor was sized 10HP larger than the last because I arbitrarily upped it by 5HP for a wider RFM and another 5HP to run the A/C. Seems about right.

Garrick

Equipment
L4610, BX2360
May 5, 2024