Losing Power

300zx

Equipment
1979 B7100D, 2009 ZG20, 1991 B2150, 1990 B6200
Dec 1, 2010
Forest, VA
I am losing power at full throttle on my new to me B2150 with 682 hours showing. I have had the tractor for about 2 months now and have only used it occasionally around the house for lifting and moving things without any problems. This morning I traveled about 1/2 mile on the road to pickup my 5 ft finish mower. The road was hilly and I noticed that it was losing rpms pulling up the hills. I picked up the mower and started mowing some fairly tall grass. At first it ran perfect. After a while it lost rpm/power under load and began to miss. Under less load, the miss would go away. By the time I finished about 1/2 hour of mowing and got it home, it was worse under load, but ran fine at idle. The previous owner had changed the fuel filter and said he had put on a new fuel pump. I am guessing this has been a problem before. I am fairly new to diesels. If an injector goes bad, does it miss at all rpms or just under load? Can it be valve clearance? As the engine heats up under load, what little clearance it has is lost and I am losing compression? Any help would be appreciated.

John in VA

Bulldog

Equipment
M 9000 DTC, L 3000 DT
Mar 30, 2010
Rocky Face, Georgia
The first thing that comes to mind is either dirty fuel filter or maybe water in fuel which again will be dirty fuel filter. Might try some conditioner and a new fuel filter just to be sure for yourself. Eliminate the easy things first.

300zx

Equipment
Dec 1, 2010
Forest, VA
I got the filter and will put it in tomorrow. The fuel has conditioner in it, but I will double it up. If the fuel has water in it, can it be seen in the clear fuel filter housing? I have a valve cover gasket coming in on Saturday morning. It is leaking, so I might as well adjust the valves and replace it while I am in there.

John in VA

hodge

Lifetime Member

Equipment
John Deere 790 John Deere 310 backhoe Bobcat 743
Nov 19, 2010
Love, VA