L2501 HST basic operation questions

Whitemike

Mar 24, 2022
Idaho
-The PTO lever that’s behind the drivers seat, im assuming is only for rear implements? I used forks and loader bucket for a couple hours yesterday and never touched that lever In the picture.

-the differential lock - does the tractor have to be in neutral before pressing down on this lever, and then back in neutral to release?

-is the tractor supposed to be in neutral before pulling on the FWD lever?

I have no experience with HST vehicles and just ASSumed that without manual gear selection, these things weren’t necessary but now I’m second guessing myself.

D6A30793-BDB6-4C63-AE95-787F11DD34E5.jpeg

Roadworthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L2501 HST
Aug 17, 2019
Benton City, WA
The PTO lever controls the PTO at the rear of the tractor. Depress the clutch before engaging or disengaging. It's the only PTO on the L2501. The speed varies with the engine speed which is why you have a PTO marking on the tach at about 2000 rpm. The tractor need not be in neutral to lock the differential but should not be moving when doing so. The tractor need not be in neutral to engage FWD but should be stopped. Depressing the clutch may help. It seems to get easier to engage over time. Like a manual transmission select a gear appropriate to what you're doing. Of course the tractor should be stopped when changing gears. I spend most of my time in M or L. If you use the parking brake remember to release it to move the tractor - it will save wear on the brakes. It's easy to forget.

Reactions: 3 users

woodman55

Equipment
L6060HSTC, RTV 1100
May 15, 2022
canada
Your owners manual has descriptions for everything and the proper way to use them.

Reactions: 4 users

Rdrcr

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L2501 w/ S2T Turbo Kit = 35 PTO HP (Current), B2601 (Sold)
May 7, 2021
WA