Kubota F3680 rear axle Oil leak

Jimmy123

Equipment
Kubota F3680
Dec 31, 2023
Europe
F3680 rear axle oil leak

Hey guys! Happy new year!

I noticed oil leaking from the rear axle on my Kubota F3680 mower. The oil is leaking where the rear drive shaft is located.

Now, I wonder what would be the easist way to change the oil seal (I have never done it before)? Is there a trick how to do it without full disassemble of the rear axle? Or can I maybe do something else to stop the oil leak without the need to change the oil seal?

Oil is leaking only when I drive the mower. When it's stattionary the leaking stops.

Attachments

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada
wow, for SURE the housing is damaged ! Maybe the Ujoint broke ? Can't think of wehat else would take out the housing and not do more damage.
Bet it's a pricey part...... if it's the 'ass'y holder' ,is only $275 Cdn..... cough,cough. BUT not that hard to R&R.

Attachments

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user

Jimmy123

Equipment
Kubota F3680
Dec 31, 2023
Europe
wow, for SURE the housing is damaged ! Maybe the Ujoint broke ? Can't think of wehat else would take out the housing and not do more damage.
Bet it's a pricey part...... if it's the 'ass'y holder' ,is only $275 Cdn..... cough,cough. BUT not that hard to R&R.

Yeah, I have no idea hat happened here. Bought this machine few weeks ago for a nice price from the reseller. Also the rear PTO shaft is missing (I guess something bad happened here haha). Idk if this is worth repairing knowing that I can get the whole rear axle for 250$ from a guy nearby.

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Well to me, it make sense and cents to buy the complete axle providing it's in 'field ready' condition. Install it then use yours for future spare parts ??

Reactions: 2 users

Matt Ellerbee