Grading with Bucket is hard. Any tips?

CountryBumkin

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX2370 w/LA243, Bucket, Grapple, QA Pallet Forks, 60" MMM, rear blade & rake
Sep 27, 2015
Central FL
Hi, newbie here.
I'm trying to level and grade a small area in my yard with my BX where a shed was removed. The area to level is/was about 12x12, however now I have half the yard involved. :)

I'm back dragging the bucket, and I seem to making a bigger mess.
Whenever the tractor tires hit a rut the bucket digs in - then I have two ruts. I'm beginning to think this task is not possible with bucket alone.

I also have a 3-point rake attachment that I'm trying. This is doing a little better job as I drive figure-eights over the area. Unfortunately the rake doesn't float so I have the same issue with ruts as above, only not as bad.

Is there a right and wrong way to level with the bucket?

Or maybe this is way they make "graders" and "box blades".

sheepfarmer

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3560, B2650, Gator, Ingersoll mower
Nov 14, 2014
MidMichigan
I have only had my tractor with this kind of bucket and blade for a year and have had many of the same problems. When I talked to my friend who does this for a living and can level everything perfectly with his bigger tractor and bucket, he said it was practice practice practice :( I will look forward to any hints that appear. I have the fewest "oopses" back blading in float and did some practicing out in the back pasture with snow.

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Hi, newbie here.
I'm trying to level and grade a small area in my yard with my BX where a shed was removed. The area to level is/was about 12x12, however now I have half the yard involved. :)

Whenever the tractor tires hit a rut the bucket digs in - then I have two ruts. I'm beginning to think this task is not possible with bucket alone.