Death of a Small Business

MXBX

Equipment
B2601
Jun 20, 2014
Maryland
Being a small business owner, I found this sad! We are a dying breed. Fortunately, my kids didn't want any part of our business even though it provided our family a very good living with some personal freedom, you know, "The American Dream".

After twenty five years of building the Kubota product line in the Washington D.C. area, Kubota has terminated our dealer agreement. Unfortunately they have determined that our prime location is not good enough for them. But of course why wouldn't they think that? We are only on the oldest route in the country US1, and we are one whole block south of two of the busiest roads in America I95/I495. We are walking distance to The University of Maryland, The USDA, The FDA and minutes from Washington D.C., the seat of our federal government. There are no other tractor dealers inside the Capitol beltway and probably never will be again. So if you need an authorized Kubota dealer in the future, enjoy your ride and thank corporate America for continuing to walk all over the small businesses who built their name in the first place. In the mean time, we will continue serve our loyal customers, just as we have for the past 35 years at our unworthy location. P.S. If someone is interested in a bad location to purchase, we may consider selling it, Price $3.7million.​

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Being a small business owner, I found this sad! We are a dying breed. Fortunately, my kids didn't want any part of our business even though it provided our family a very good living with some personal freedom, you know, "The American Dream".