B2650 Blade

garciajoe

Equipment
B2650 Z422 Cyclone Rake North Star log splitter Woods Heritage RD60
Oct 22, 2014
Serena, Illinois
In the market for a back blade for my B2650. I would like to get a 72" Land Pride with shoes. Question is this a good setup for my tractor or should I go with a 60" blade. This is my first "orange" tractor as I have been using a 9N Ford for 35 years. My son thought it was time for me to have all the modern conveniences.. This will be used mostly for moving snow in northern Illinois. Any ideas would be appreciated.

skeets

Equipment
BX 2360 /B2601
Oct 2, 2009
SW Pa
Joe, and this is just me, but were I you I would opt for a pusher blade. I k now lost of guys, my self included, have back blades. I use it for weight in the winter when pushing with the front blade and for cleaning up the drive way in the spring. I have use it to move snow, but not really impressed, for me at least, anything over 6 inches of wet snow and its useless,,, but it might be I don't know how to use it right,, just MHO and welcome to the orange:D

Stubbyie

Jul 1, 2010
Midcontinent
You might be surprised how many uses you can find for a rear blade in addition to moving snow---depending on your local living environment and what you do otherwise on your place and with the machine.

If you do go with a rear blade, get a quality model that is well constructed, not lightweight.

The thing we use is a 72-inch Servis (sp?) by Alamo probably from the '80's that along with the characteristics noted next also has a replaceable cutting edge. All things to consider.

I haven't been in the market for a rear blade in a number of years and haven't paid that much attention to what's available, but...

Ours has three features that make it more useful than 'straight' rear blades:

There is a swivel plate right between the 3-point lift pins that by pulling a vertical pin allows the entire blade boom assembly and blade to swivel something like 60-degrees toward each rear tire.