How do you deal with snow?

SRG

Equipment
B8200D 4WD........ JD 870, FWA, 300x FEL.......... JD 797, 72" Z-Trak
Jul 15, 2017
N. IL
Ive been doing mine and the neighbors drives for the last 4 years. Hers takes about 15 minutes.. Mine takes almost 45.

All with a rear blade.... 20 years running equipment, half of those miles accumulated in reverse.... The neck doesn't turn real well anymore and frankly its just annoying to plow backwards. Especially when the fact that reverse is geared lower than forward.

I think I'm going to grab a 6' snow pusher. Tired of looking over my shoulder and the plowing I have to do doesn't lend well to winging snow off to the side despite the 600' straight away part of my drive. For that matter, I could take a center swipe down the drive with the rear blade offset and angled and get the entire drive in 2 passes.... I like that idea.
There is a guy who advertises snow pushers on craigslist, in Holland MI....
https://kalamazoo.craigslist.org/grd/d/holland-compact-tractor-snow-pusher/6792450423.html
Prices are right.

I started out using my new rear blade this year to move snow. It works, okay.
I have reverted back to using my 72" box blade to drag snow out to the road and back push it into the ditch. I like the way it works the best.

Last edited:

sheepfarmer

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3560, B2650, Gator, Ingersoll mower
Nov 14, 2014
MidMichigan
Eipo, go look at what's over at msu surplus. Had some Western blades for atv or something, maybe could modify, and then there is a nice little Kubota with front blade and CAB. :D

eipo

Equipment
L4060
Dec 1, 2015
MI
There is a guy who advertises snow pushers on craigslist, in Holland MI....
https://kalamazoo.craigslist.org/grd/d/holland-compact-tractor-snow-pusher/6792450423.html
Prices are right.