Zero Turn Mowers

PaulL

Equipment
B2601
Jul 17, 2017
NZ
Paul,
I started out looking for a ZTR but changed to ordering a F2690 after I decided that the terrain of my 5 acres is better suited for the F series.

I have been mowing since 1995 with my Deere 955 compact utility with 6' midmount deck and 5 foot rear cutter for brush. I will continue to use the Deere to mow a few small areas where it will easily and safely cut a steep roadside ditch but the F2690 will be faster and will do a better job when the grass is slightly damp where the heavy front end of the Deere pushes over the grass ahead of its midmount deck causing a very uneven cut. And the flip up front deck of the Kubota will be very easy to clean.

A big plus will be I can pretty much leave the loader on the 955 all of the time instead of taking it off for mowing. No complaints on the Deere because it has been trouble-free except for replacing a few idler pulleys on the deck which seems to be the weak spot; not a big deal except Deere has revised the deck multiple times so it was always an adventure to get the right set of hardware for whatever pulley was current.

I ordered the F2690 with a rear discharge deck in late June and I got a call earlier this week that it is finally in and will be delivered next week. The rear discharge deck on the Kubota will be nice since it can cut up to the edge on either side and the deck offset bias to one side will make cutting the yard along the roadside ditch safer since the tires won't be close to the edge like they are on my Deere. It is also shorter making it easier to go under trees and the up front deck will go in places where I don't have to follow :)

Rodger
I'm looking forward to the "mower has arrived" post!! I can't justify two machines, so B2601 it is for me. But for mowing an F would be really nice.

RBsingl

Equipment
Kubota F 2690 72" rear discharge deck, Deere 955
Jul 1, 2022
Central IL