Will I break the transmission by running chains on rear tires in 4x4?

Mitigator

Equipment
Kubota B2650, snowblower, back blade, rake, Heavy Hitch,
Feb 23, 2023
I'm new to tractors and I'm running a front mount snowblower, chains on rear tires and rather than keep the diff. locked, I'm using the 4X4. I have a B2650 with hydrostatic transmission. I just watched a youtube video of a guy named GP in Canada that said his dealer told him he can't use chains and 4x4 at the same time as it will destroy the transmission. Any validity to this?

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada
NO !
the dealer is an IDIOT, his picture needs to be in the dictionary next to the word IDIOT

• Haha
Reactions: 3 users

Steve67

Equipment
B2601-fel, 60"mmm, 5' rear blade, balast box
Jan 20, 2017
St. Louis, mo.
I have used chains and 4x4 in snow over the years and it’s never been a problem

Reactions: 1 user

Mitigator

Equipment
Kubota B2650, snowblower, back blade, rake, Heavy Hitch,
Feb 23, 2023
NO !
the dealer is an IDIOT, his picture needs to be in the dictionary next to the word IDIOT
Thank You! Made absolutely no sense to me. But this is my first tractor and thought it might be an odd tractor thing.

jimh406

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota L2501 with R4 tires
Jan 29, 2021
Western MT
I've only used mine for 2 seasons. No breakage so far. I also have front chains. I think you'll be good as long as you do it when traction allows for some slipping, and aren't cutting the wheels tight over and over.

That being said, there probably isn't reason to keep it in 4x4 if you don't think you need it.

nbryan

Equipment
B2650 BH77 LA534 54" ssqa Forks B2782B BB1560 Woods M5-4 MaxxHaul 50039
Jan 3, 2019
Hadashville, Manitoba, Canada
From your post it seemed to me it was a choice of diif lock OR 4x4, not using both together.