What to fill rear tires with

Dippybird

Equipment
L2900
Jun 21, 2020
Ma
I bought a used l2900 used a year ago and it had filled tires. I just wanted to share what I learned trying to do research on what is the best fluid to use. Unfortunately I think the answer is it really depends on you situation. I am not an expert but this spring I popped a tube on my rear tire and the cacl started leaking out. I was in my driveway so I rolled the tractor so the leak was the highest point on the wheel and got a floor jack on it so I did not lose much. Then I went researching what I should do to fix it. Luckily my hole was on the same side of the tire as the valve stem so I took the tire off and laid it on the driveway with the valve stem and hole up. I found some plastic tubing that fit fairly well over the valve stem and stuck the other end of the tube in the shop vac with duct tape “Adapt” from 3/8 of an inch to 3 inch. Was it the most efficient no. I had about 30 gallons so I emptied the shop vac several times into 5 gallon buckets. Got most of it out maybe a gallon left in the inner tube. Took the tire off the rim pulled out the tube and ordered a new tube. My rim had some rust and definitely some rot around the valve stem. Most thing I have read the claim that is do to the cacl leaking over time. I completely disagree. The tractor I have is about 25 years old and it was probably the original tires and rims. From what I saw with the old inner tube and the new inner tube is that you do not get a great seal between the inner tube and the rim. A tubeless tire has a rubber valve stem that creates and airtight (water tight) seal. The tube valve stem is slightly smaller then the hole so it fits. This will allow moisture to get trapped there and over 25 years it rots. A similar issue was rust on the inside of the rim. The rust was only on an inside ridge around the rim and you could tell by looking at it that it was where the inner tube would not touch and would have the same prob