Rake or Box Scraper or Grading Scraper

eddy20

Equipment
b8200
Jan 28, 2014
temecula, ca
Purchasing a new L3902 for our land in Humboldt, CA. The property consists of 15 acres of pasture land and 35 acres of redwood forest. It's my second Kubota and second tractor. But I'm really a beginner user of the tractor in Humboldt. The pasture land has not been maintained for 15 years and is overgrown and the pasture land is very uneven, I would like to smooth it out and reseed. All the opinions I read just make me more confused. For instance if I box scrape the pasture land I have read I will screw up the top soil for new grasses and alfalfa. Moving forward after I clear the land of blackberry bushes with a grapple the remaining work will be mowing, and cleaning up and leveling the pastures. Additionally maintaining the three driveways and the forest roads through the forest part of the property. So what's the best implement to purchase for leveling the ground? All the pasture land and lawns have shallow holes from not being maintained and all the rain we get (avg 46" a year).

jimh406

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota L2501 with R4 tires
Jan 29, 2021
Western MT
A grader scraper quickly becomes clogged with grass and debris. I've tried using mine to level ground. It seems to only work after you take the vegetation off. It is great to maintain gravel driveways/roads.

A grader scraper will continually discharge dirt, so you may be move the top layer, but it will come back out again. I don't think this will cause topsoil damage but will move it.

To smooth it out, I think you will need a rotary tiller.

I think I would mow it as short as you can and then use the rotary tiller.

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada
I would
1) run subsoiler N-S then E-W
2) plow N-S
3) disc N-S then E-W
4) disc + rolling baskets and/or drag 'smoothing chains