Projects you shouldn't start (and know better)

ctfjr

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3800HST
Dec 7, 2009
central ct
Let me just say I'm no mechanic. When it comes to the dirty work on cars you can generally count me out. That said when my daughter called and asked if I would do a brake job on her car, I stupidly said ok.

It's a 2009 Mazda 6 that is her 2nd car. Sits outside mostly unused even through our winters. That should give you some idea of what the underside of this car looks like. Everything was rusted. If it wasn't for one of my sons helping I would have towed it to a garage the 1st day.

Of course the rotors and pads for the front that she had ordered were wrong. The good news was the rears were actually ok, plenty of pad left.

I never did so much drilling or wire brushing on a brake job in my life. Used an ample amount of Mouse Milk that turned out to be a life saver. I was sure we were going to snap the caliper bleeders until I put that on.

Bottom line we finished the fronts today. I sent my daughter a text telling her that and also telling her she HAS TO sell this car immediately.

Sometimes you just have to say no.

Reactions: 1 users

NCL4701

Equipment
L4701, T2290, WC68, grapple, BB1572 box scrape, Howes 500, 16kW IMD gen, WG24
Apr 27, 2020
Central Piedmont, NC
I recall one of the more pleasant surprises when I bought my first brand new truck (I was in my mid-40’s) was when I removed the front bumper and replaced with a winch bar. Nothing was rusty or seized. It was like the heavens opened and smiled upon me. I had driven rusty old crap for so long I spent some time pondering the last time I’d done anything without a cheater bar, penetrating oil, or hot wrench. Couldn’t recall anything other than tire rotation. Just a little corrosion routinely makes simple jobs barely doable.

fried1765

Equipment
Kubota L48 TLB, Ford 1920 FEL, Ford 8N, SCAG Liberty Z, Gravely Pro.
Nov 14, 2019
Eastham, Ma