newbie fuel question

Tobers

Feb 7, 2021
Durham, NC
new owner of a b6200. never done diesel before. The Kubota manual calls for #2 diesel fuel. Is that the diesel I would buy at your typical gas station? I'm assuming "yes." And, do people use any additives? I hear it's important to not let the tank get too low. I can manage that. I don't want to ignite a war on this topic. Just looking for wisdom for a first timer. Thanks!

Reactions: 1 user

Nicfin36

Equipment
L2501 HST, BH77 Backhoe, SSQA Loader ZD1011 Mower
Jun 19, 2019
Decatur, AL
I'm no expert, but yeah, gas station fuel is #2 Diesel, at least it is down here in the South.

I know several people here use additives, including algicide and anti-gel in the winter.

I only use Howes lubricant in my diesel fuel as I have an older tractor that could probably benefit from it, and I don't think it hurts anything in the Kubota.

DeepWoods

Equipment
B2650HSDC Woodland Mills WC68 Wood Chipper
Apr 10, 2019
Bigfork Minnesota
Yes to just getting diesel from you local gas station. Try to use a station that has a high turnover so it is fresh. As far as additives, I use anti Jel in the winter( northern Minnesota) and algicide in the summer months. Your requirements may very

hedgerow

Jan 2, 2015
Malcolm NE
I won't talk brands as everyone has their's. Out on the farm we get bulk dyed #2 off road diesel. Not a lot of stations have off road diesel so you will probably just buy #2 road diesel at your favorite station and run it. I only run additives in the winter and cut my #2 with #1 50/50 for winter. Try to not run it out of fuel as bleeding one is no fun. Might want to change the fuel filter and service the tractor if you don't know the history on the tractor.

Pony Doc

Lifetime Member

Equipment
SSV75 Kioti LK3054 Oliver 1250
Dec 15, 2020
Central Colorado