New Kubota Owner (did I do good?)

Oklahoma

Equipment
L225, 48bush, 72finish,
Mar 6, 2011
Rome, Georgia
Hey, I just picked up what I think to be a pristine L225. I am new to owning a tractor, although I've spent many hours on my dad's 52 8N. I know enough to know, I did not want a huge tractor for what I need to do, I DID want a live PTO (who puts a barn there?) and I was leaning toward a diesel. The only thing I know about a Kubota, is my Grampa uses a 50's model International to plow his garden, and a L2202 for everything else. If Grampa owns it, it must be good. I bought this at the local auction for $2700. I went looking for an older Ford gas, or a newer Japanese diesel. (I work for Toyo Tires) After I bought the tractor the old gentleman who brought it in, found me to share the history. I don't know him from Adam, but figure he didn't have any reason to find me, just to tell me a story. He says it was his neighbor's who died last year. The widow asked him to sell it for her. All he knew about the tractor was his neighbor had owned it for the 20 years he's known him, and all he's seen him do is plow a garden and mow the yard. I'll be buffing the paint this week. It doesn't have a dent on it. Even the original airpressure stickers are on the rims. All the dash stickers are intact and even have the clear sheeting still on them. I have a good feeling about this, and hopefully I'll come to really enjoy this.

I do like the fact that it's 4-6 more HP than the 8N, but half as small, and
10x easier to drive. I think I'll even get the wife out to mow this year.

cabu

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kuno B1-15 (B1502DT)
May 24, 2009
Germany, Oyten
...I think I'll even get the wife out to mow this year.
That's the same what I have thought, when I bought my Kubota. A few month later I bought a mower from Yardman. And even this is not really working (I mean the mower-wife combination) ;)

carl

ps: Good trade!!

LRP

Sep 29, 2010
canada