Need help identifying oil leak

C4pt4inMatt

Dec 28, 2018
Biloxi, MS
I've been working on bringing back to life an old L1500 and I finally got it running but noticed it's spitting oil out of what seems like an overflow or something. It seems to be a decent amount coming out as the motor runs. What is this pipe and I'm guessing something isn't right so what should I be looking to fix?

I'm still learning about this thing, and diesel engines in general to be honest so any help is greatly appreciated. I've attached a pic of where the oil is coming from.

Attachments

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
Do you realize tyour L1500 is a Gray market tractor and American Kubota dealers will not get involved.

forum L1500.jpg

Looking at the L175 parts illustration the pipe in question appears to be a breather pipe for the fuel injection pump and should have a length of hose attached so any leakage drains unto the ground.

forum L175 breather.jpg

Dave

C4pt4inMatt

Dec 28, 2018
Biloxi, MS
Yea I understand it's a gray market and for the most part I've been able to find what I've needed. I figured it was some sort of breather but I was alarmed by how much oil is coming out of there. Looking at that diagram you posted, is there maybe a diaphragm or something that would help retain some of the oil? Or is that much oil coming out an indicator that something is off time or worn out?

Last edited:

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
From looking further at the parts info, there seems to be some sort of media inside the housing.

The media etc may serve to block raw oil from exiting the housing.

Why is their apparent diesel fuel on top of the injection pump?

Dave

C4pt4inMatt

Dec 28, 2018
Biloxi, MS
From looking further at the parts info, there seems to be some sort of media inside the housing.