MIG welding question. (CO2 canister)

joekimtkd

Equipment
B7510DT, 4' Snow blower, 4' Loader, 6' Blade, 6' 3PH Finish mower, 6' box blade,
Aug 16, 2009
Durham Ontario Canada
One of youtube video guy said we could use Paint ball's CO2 canister for MIG welding. Is it true?
I'm studying MIG welding a lot right now. but this Paint balling CO2 canister makes me quite interested. 'cause, I have 3 of 20 oz tank with full of CO2 right now. :D

Is there any one using it right now?

Since I'm not a welder, I don't weld much at all. Maybe once a month, or once a year like...:eek: So, buying the CO2 gas tank or leasing doesn't make much sense for me. even renting the tank. also those tank has expiry date too, Don't they?

I'm just using Flux core welding right now but it gives me dirty looks~:cool:
So, If I could use this CO2 canister, I wouldn't mind to try it though.

I don't know much about this Paint balling CO2 canister but when I was leasing Paint balling CO2 tank, it was $100/year and I had to use siphon style CO2 tank. so those siphoning style tank could be a problem on MIG welding, I think..., Doesn't it?

I know this is very weird, stupid question but~ I had to ask~!

Joe.

traildust

Equipment
B7610HST 4WD, LA352 FEL, Gearmore 2 Spool Top & Tilt Box Scraper
Jan 27, 2010
Phelan, California
One of youtube video guy said we could use Paint ball's CO2 canister for MIG welding. Is it true?
I'm studying MIG welding a lot right now. but this Paint balling CO2 canister makes me quite interested. 'cause, I have 3 of 20 oz tank with full of CO2 right now. :D

Is there any one using it right now?

Since I'm not a welder, I don't weld much at all. Maybe once a month, or once a year like...:eek: So, buying the CO2 gas tank or leasing doesn't make much sense for me. even renting the tank. also those tank has expiry date too, Don't they?

I'm just using Flux core welding right now but it gives me dirty looks~:cool: