LA 340 lift capcity

RichAllyn

Equipment
BX23S
Sep 25, 2020
Athens, PA
Is the lifting limit set by hydrolics or tractor counter weight on the back of my bx23s or a combination of both? Thanks I'm new to Orange Talks and really enjoying the conversations and good advice for my new tractor. I am building a tool box / counter weight for FEL digging.

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
Is the lifting limit set by hydrolics or tractor counter weight on the back of my bx23s or a combination of both? Thanks I'm new to Orange Talks and really enjoying the conversations and good advice for my new tractor. I am building a tool box / counter weight for FEL digging.
Your goal has to be to make your tractor stable when lifting with the loader. Because the font axle pivots from side to side it cannot resist the tractor trying to roll over.

The rear axle being rigid is where the roll over resistance is achieved.

The best counter weights are designed to be carried below the height of the rear axle shaft as that provides the most stability in many situations.

Building a counter weight to be 50 to 60% of the lift capacity of the 3 pt hitch is adequate. Your 3 pt hitch will have weight ratings for weight at the lift pins and a lower number for weight at 24" back of the lift pins.

Dave

Russell King

Equipment
L185F, Modern Ag Competitor 4’ shredder, Rhino tiller, rear dirt scoop
Jun 17, 2012
Austin, Texas
The hydraulic system is capable of a set lifting force at the pins. The tractor has to balance the torque around the front wheels with its weight and distance from the front wheels. Adding weight farther from the front wheels will add more counter torque and make sure the tractor is stabilized on the rear wheels.

So the real answer is that both play a part of the lifting capacity.

nbryan

Equipment
B2650 BH77 LA534 54" ssqa Forks B2782B BB1560 Woods M5-4 MaxxHaul 50039
Jan 3, 2019
Hadashville, Manitoba, Canada