L2800HST - What do you think?

tk1469

Nov 15, 2010
North Central Michigan
I have a line on a 2009 L2800HST w/FEL, backblade, and rake for $ 15,900. The unit has only 150 hrs.

I'm looking for a tractor & FEL to move dirt, snow, pull out downed trees, and do general maintenance on my 20 acres. What do you think of this ?? Would this 29 HP be enough for me ?? Your thoughts ...

tk1469

Nov 15, 2010
North Central Michigan
Hey Service Dept Vic - I'm new to tractors and definitely don't want to buy one that is too small - but - hate to overspend on more tractor that what is really needed.

Would this thing pull out a downed tree from the woods that is - say - 20-25 ft long ? I've heard that normally you'll run out of traction before you run out of power.

Thoughts ?

Hook

Equipment
L3240 with LA514 FEL, Box Blade, Howard Rotovator, All Purpose Plow, Sub Soiler
Jul 6, 2010
Jackson, Georgia
If you have time and watch Craigslist you can get a more powerful tractor and maybe even a Grand L for less money. I found a 2008 L3240 with 70 hours, FEL, R4 tires and a finish mower for $14K. I had to drive 400 miles to get it but it was well worth the drive.

Last edited:

tk1469

Nov 15, 2010
North Central Michigan
Thanks Hook. Yeah - I think I need more tractor than a L2800. The added horses will someday come in handy - since I don't plan on buying one of these things again - anytime soon.

Hook

Equipment
L3240 with LA514 FEL, Box Blade, Howard Rotovator, All Purpose Plow, Sub Soiler
Jul 6, 2010
Jackson, Georgia
TK,

Here is an update on what I meant with my earlier post. This weekend I purchased a package deal that included the following:

2005 Kubota L2800 Hyd. (163 hours) with R4 tires, and LA 463 FEL
5 ft Bush Hog Squealer w/slip clutch (10 hours),
5 ft Woods RD 600 finish mower (real good condition),
5 ft drag harrow
16 ft dual axle trailer.