L260 suddenly wont start. Injection Pump?

wpg9210

Equipment
L260
Oct 3, 2019
Waterford Works, NJ
Hello, I am very new to this. So please bear with me if I ask any stupid questions.

I recently bought a very old L260. It ran when I got it home. Tried to start it the other day and it caught, as normal, black exhaust, ran for a second and died.

I read all I can about that model here. I am thinking this is an injection pump problem? Again very new to tractors and diesel engines.

I cracked the fuel lines at the injectors, cranked the engine. Fuel comes out of the lines.

Then i removed the cover plate on the injection pump and the rack was stuck full forward (WOT?).

Tried bleeding the fuel line. Still plenty of fuel coming out when cranking.

Then I tried manually pumping the fuel transfer pump, the engine caught for a second then died.

Not enough pressure from the injection pump?

Thanks in advance.

-Bill

Russell King

Equipment
L185F, Modern Ag Competitor 4’ shredder, Rhino tiller, rear dirt scoop
Jun 17, 2012
Austin, Texas
You should start at the tank and see if you have good fuel flow from tank, into filter, out of filter, into injector pump...

Is it fresh fuel and are you sure it is diesel and only diesel? Has it gotten too cold there for the fuel in the tank, is it gelling (doubtful but possible)

Spray the pump rack to clean it up and free it to move easily. Search for methods on that since I don’t have the information on them.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Roadworthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L2501 HST
Aug 17, 2019
Benton City, WA