L175 won’t start

Seasuka

Equipment
Kubota L175
Oct 3, 2018
UK
I have a L175 tractor I’ve used for grass cutting since i bought it second hand 15 years ago. It has always been easy to start until recently and now will only turn over a few times even with battery fully charged to 12.65 volts. There is fuel at the bleed screw. It has always smoked somewhat which I assumed to be unburnt fuel as oil level is constant and oil well structured if blackened. I’ve always had problems with the cooling system as it was not pressurised when I got it and replacement radiator caps have rusted away very quickly. Recently I worked it for no longer than ½ hour sessions before letting it cool and topping up. I have to suspect overheating although never seen any steam.my question is whether it is likely to have suffered internal damage and if so is worth trying to get repaired. It reads 1348 hours and the clutch tends towards difficulty in disengagement. As a non engineer I would be very grateful for any advice. Tony

Motion

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota MX5100HST/FEL
Aug 17, 2020
Mandeville Louisiana
The cooling system is suspicious, something is causing the engine to over heat, dirty radiator, bad thermostat, leaks in the system. Rusted radiator caps? I'd suggest performing a compression test. You may have a bad head gasket. I'd do a complete assessment of the engine and drive train. It sounds as though you've used this machine with very little preventative maintenance. 1348 hours isn't many hours. You can either repair the one you have or go buy another but you'll need to stay up problems or you'll be right back where you are. Good luck

Seasuka

Equipment
Kubota L175
Oct 3, 2018
UK