L175 - Can't Shift Into Gear (when running)

Digityman

Aug 26, 2009
Portland, Maine
Hello Orange World -
I'm rather new to everything orange but learning and enjoying. Thank you for this site and all of the information/videos. Nice to be part of a community.

I purchased my first Kubota L175 (1972ish?) back in March from a gentlemen that had 3 of them up north. He hated to let it go but I think the wife made him. I promised I would take good care of it. In the 5 months I've owned it, I've fixed a frozen fuel line and some other little stuff but now have another (bigger) issue.

Was moving logs with my forks/bucket and parked it after finishing for the day. Everything was working fine. 24 hours later I came out to move some logs. Started the tractor and it won't shift into gear. With clutch depressed, it just grinds. I tried switching between high/low and it makes no difference. I checked the pedal linkage and it's adjusted all the way out (previous owner?) so I can't adjust there.

I haven't checked the transmission fluid level (doing that tonight hopefully) but as I was reading other posts, I had a thought it could be broken clutch arm? Does that sound right? Anything else that anybody can think of before I send it off to be fixed? I don't have $1200 for some to split it, don't have the time do it myself with a new little one and winter is coming fast. If I have to send it out, does $1200 sound right?

Any help or even suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers
Digity for Freeport, ME

Curbster

Equipment
L-185 DT
Feb 19, 2009
Nelson, B.C.