Kubota B6000 Restoration

flangefrog

Equipment
Kubota B6000
Nov 29, 2021
Auckland, New Zealand
Hi! A short introduction: I've lived my whole life on a farm in Auckland, New Zealand surrounded with tractors. Mostly old David Browns at this point but also a couple of Kubota's. I'm not really experienced with fixing tractors but I've done some basic work on them before including repairing electrical stuff. I've also rebuilt a mower engine before.

On the farm there is an old Kubota B6000. It's one of the first tractors I ever drove. It's also the first tractor I ever worked on, repairing the fuel line and later the electrics. I often used it for towing trailers or moving heavy items. I love how small but capable it is and it's my favourite tractor. It worked pretty well but had a few issues like a hard to move throttle. Several years ago the steering completely stopped working. It's been left out and has unfortunately deteriorated a lot recently.

About a year ago I had another look at the steering and tried welding new teeth onto the sector gear as they were worn in the shape of the worm gear. It worked for just a short while but then stopped again. The teeth weren't even engaging with the worm gear.

Just recently I've been looking at the tractor again and this time I've found the parts, service and operating manuals as well as this forum and some youtube videos. The steering assembly is the "old style". I can see now that the problem with the steering was that there were no bearings (actually I found about 2 balls from the lower bearing when cleaning it). I had assumed the worm gear was held in the correct place with bearings in the outer shaft cover but actually the shaft had been rubbing against the edge of the upper bearing race and oil seal, grinding a lot of it away.

20211127_150650.jpg