ISO32 or ISO46? Which one?

Norman

Equipment
LX2610HSD;LA535;LP 60" grapple; WC68 chipper; GB60 SW cutter
Sep 30, 2021
Georgia, USA
I live in Newnan Georgia, about 30 miles south of Atlanta. I'm getting a new Woodland Mills WC68 chipper that specs the ISO32 (or ISO46 in "warmer climates"). Does it really matter to me which one I use? Winter temps here rarely get below 30F. Would one perform better as an "all season" hydraulic fluid? I'd like to buy once and be done. Everything I've read indicates that either one would be okay to use but I wanted to get some real world opinions too.

Thanks again for responses, I'm pretty new to this tractor thing so have a steep learning curve.

TheOldHokie

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3901/LA525, B7200DT/B1630, G2160/RCK60, G2460/RCK60
Apr 6, 2021
Myersville, MD
windyridgefarm.us
I live in Newnan Georgia, about 30 miles south of Atlanta. I'm getting a new Woodland Mills WC68 chipper that specs the ISO32 (or ISO46 in "warmer climates"). Does it really matter to me which one I use? Winter temps here rarely get below 30F. Would one perform better as an "all season" hydraulic fluid? I'd like to buy once and be done. Everything I've read indicates that either one would be okay to use but I wanted to get some real world opinions too.

Thanks again for responses, I'm pretty new to this tractor thing so have a steep learning curve.
Let me give you a reference point. Super UDT2 is a ISO 46 oil and well suited to all season use in hydraulic systems. However it has a much higher viscosity index than a conventional hydraulic oil so its viscosity is more stable across temperature changes.

In your application the choice of ISO 32 vs ISO 46 comes down to two factors:
  1. You want it to be pumpable in the coldest temps you will see. Above 32F both are going to be perfectly fine.