Impact Wrench Recommendations?

NCL4701

Equipment
L4701, T2290, WC68, grapple, BB1572 box scrape, Howes 500, 16kW IMD gen, WG24
Apr 27, 2020
Central Piedmont, NC
At the risk of starting something akin to an oil thread…

I am not a professional mechanic but have occasional need for a decent 1/2” impact wrench. The biggest stuff I work on is a 1/2 ton pickup, L4701, and implements associated with the L. I have been using a rather low end Chicago Pneumatic 1/2” air powered impact for the past 30 years or so. It still runs, and that’s swell, but it won’t stop, which is not swell. I have reworked the valve twice before, lubricating, replacing O-rings, etc. to alleviate this behavior (yes, I do oil it routinely) but it’s at it again and I’m at the point of replacing it. Max reverse torque on it is around 350 lb-ft, max forward torque around 295. Not a particularly powerful tool even for a 1/2”, which adds some to my motivation to replace with something with a bit more grunt, although it does do what I need it to do, albeit at times having to give way to a 3/4” breaker bar and cheater pipe.

I have a battery operated Milwaukee drill, which is a wonderful tool. However it is probably 20 years old (on its third set of batteries) so unlikely to be battery compatible with anything new.

I am not totally adverse to staying with pneumatic, but there are times it would be quite handy to have something not tethered to a compressor. In light of my not making money with it and occasional use, cost is at least somewhat of a consideration. One of the things I routinely use this for is R/I mower blades and I prefer to not have to remove the deck every time the blades on the riding mowers need sharpening so while a low profile isn’t necessary, something massive isn’t highly desirable. I already have a reasonably complete set of 1/2” impact sockets and don’t see a need sufficient to justify the cost to move up to a much beefier 3/4” drive wrench and 3/4” sockets.