How Much Pressure Is In Hydraulic Lines ?

TheKubotaKing

Equipment
Kubota BX2380, with standard front loader, and LandPride rear blade ( 60 inch )
Nov 2, 2020
United States
Hi everyone, and good morning.
I've been wondering about this for some time... when you look at load a tiny BX tractor or any tractor for that matter can lift, how much pressure /PSI is on those hydraulic lines ? I'll be honest and say I am no expert in how hydraulics work, and perhaps all that pressure is in the hydraulic cylinder itself, so lines are not really under so much pressure.... ( ? ) From a few videos on YouTube, it seems the amount of pressure that is created is 10x or more, by compressing that hydraulic fluid.... but where is all of that really happening ? is it in the cylinder itself ?

Hopefully a good question ! :)

BigG

Equipment
l2501, FEL, BB, Rotary cutter, rake,spreader, roller, etc. New Holland TL80 A
Sep 14, 2018
West Central,FL
Look up Pascal's Principle and it will explain the idea behind hydraulics for you.

Reactions: 1 user

Henro

Equipment
B2910, BX2200, KX41-2V mini Ex.
May 24, 2019
North of Pittsburgh PA
Look up Pascal's Principle and it will explain the idea behind hydraulics for you.
In addition to this, since the tractor uses an open loop system, the pressure is very low until you shift one of the valves, and cause something to move. Then the pressure will increase, to a maximum that is set by the pressure relief valve, depending on the work being done.

On a BX I think the max pressure is about 1800 or 1850 PSI. Or in that range anyway.

If you do not want to study hydraulics, this may answer your question...;)

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
Just figure there's 2000 pounds of pressure. Never put any part of your body in the path of hyd fluid shooting out of a leaking fitting/hose. It can penetrate your skin and cause you great harm.

dirtydeed

Lifetime Member

Equipment