G2160 bogging down and blowing white smoke at higher RPM

eberisha

Equipment
G2160
Nov 27, 2020
New York
Hi there..... I’m new to the forum so pardon any terminology flukes as I am not a mechanic but somewhat mechanical.
I have owned the G2160 (D782 engine) for 12 yrs with no issues. Tractor has under 400 hrs. Just recently noticed white smoke when reving above half. At idle is fine. After reading the manual there could be fuel injector timing or clogged/ damaged injectors. The flywheel timing mark lines start with half line then full line. I’m assuming 3rd full line is wher it needs to be set at? Also, my battery is completely shot and had to jump start to turn on. Could that have to do anything with fuel system not feeding enough fuel? I plan to get new battery tomorrow. Tractor never had any issue or any smoke and coincidentally smoke and battery started somewhat at the same time.
I plan to change both fuel filters and probably get fresh diesel to rule out clogged filters or bad diesel. I change filters every year and a half and go through 2-3 full tanks a year.
Am I missing anything here?
Any help is appreciated

bearbait

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3560, 64" snowblower, 72" back blade
Dec 9, 2011
New Glasgow Canada
You're on the right track, change the fuel filter and if you can drain the fuel and replace with new fuel which is most likely causing your problem, good luck.

RCW

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX2360, FEL, MMM, BX2750D snowblower. 1953 Minneapolis Moline ZAU
Apr 28, 2013
Chenango County, NY
I agree with bearbait. Change fuel and filters first. 2 or 3 tanks a year isn't much. Could be bad fuel.

Also, I doubt this issue has a relation to the battery.

As far as timing, diesels operate differently than a gasoline engine. I would not suspect a problem there. Timing is driven by spacers under the injection pump. Unless you've had the IP off, you should be good.

eberisha

Equipment
G2160
Nov 27, 2020
New York
Hey there,