Damaging Rear PTO bush hogging ditches

planesandteeth

Equipment
BX23s
Jan 23, 2023
Middle TN
Hello all. Im the proud new owner of BX23s and have been scouring Youtube for operating advice since Im a total novice. I came across some information saying that if you somehow get the tractor and the rear implement in a "pinch" type position that you can drive the PTO shaft into the transmission and damage it. Well, the 3 acres of pasture I have to bush hog seems to be challenging one for this scenario. Its varying slopes and ditches need to be attacked from different angles to prevent flipping and its going to be difficult. How do I avoid jamming the implement shaft into the back of the tractor when driving into a ditch, or other dip? Will a properly fit implement shaft alleviate this?

NCL4701

Equipment
L4701, T2290, WC68, grapple, BB1572 box scrape, Howes 500, 16kW IMD gen, WG24
Apr 27, 2020
Central Piedmont, NC
Will a properly fit implement shaft alleviate this?
In short, yes.

If the overlap on the two pieces of the PTO shaft are such that it runs out of travel as the deck flips up in relation to the tractor, it puts the tractor PTO and mower gearbox in a bind. If that happens you’ll quickly find out if the gearbox on the mower or tractor PTO is stronger at resisting the compressive force as the weaker one will fail.

When you’re setting up the PTO shaft, it needs to be cut to a length that allows the deck to flip up to maximum upward travel without binding and flip down to maximum lower travel without coming apart or having inadequate overlap.

Reactions: 6 users

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Will a properly fit implement shaft alleviate this?
Second the yes, just make sure at the shortest driveshaft angle that there is still some play in the shaft (disconnect and try and shorten the shaft).

rc51stierhoff

Equipment